• 13:12
  • Friday ,17 February 2017
Latest News:

Egypt's new ministers, governors sworn in before President Sisi


Home News


Friday ,17 February 2017

Egypt's new ministers, governors sworn in before President Sisi

Nine newly-appointed Egyptian ministers and five governors, including Egypt’s first female governor, were sworn in on Thursday before President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi in Cairo as part of a cabinet reshuffle.

The reshuffle, which mainly involves ministries related to public services and the economy, was approved by parliament on Tuesday.
The reshuffle included new ministers of agriculture, parliamentary affairs, local development, planning and ‎administrative reform, education, higher ‎education, and transport.‎‎
The ministries of supply and of internal trade and industry were merged, as were the ministries of investment and international cooperation.
The ministers
Minister of investment and international cooperation – Sahar Nasr
Minister of supply and commerce – Ali El-Sayed Moselhi
Minister of local development – Hisham El-Sherif
Minister of education – Tarek Galal Shawki
Minister of transportation – Hesham Arafat
Minister of planning – Hala Helmi El-Said
Minister of higher education – Khaled Atef Abdel-Ghaffar
Minister of parliamentary affairs – Omar Marwan
Minister of agriculture – Abdel-Moneim Abdel-Dawoud Mohamed El-Banna
The governors
Beheira governorate – Nadia Ahmed Abdou Saleh, an engineer and former deputy governor of Behiera.
Alexandria governorate – Mohamed Ali Sultan, a doctor who served as head of the Health and Medical Services Department at the Ministry of Health.
Qalioubiya governorate – Army General Mahmoud Abdel-Ghaffar Afifi, the former governor of El-Wadi El-Gedid.
El-Wadi El Gedid – Former Army General Mohamed Salman Moussa El-Zamlot, the former commander of the Northern Military Zone.
Menoufiya governorate – Ahmed Ali El-Shaarawy, the governor of Daqahliya governorate and former head of the National Liver Institute in Menoufiya.
Egypt witnessed the last cabinet reshuffle in March 2016, when 10 new ministers were appointed, including the ministers of finance, investment and tourism. Prime Minister Sherif Ismail has been leading the cabinet since 2015.